Hurt in a Rideshare Accident? Here’s What Happens Next

Rideshare apps like Uber and Lyft continue to grow in popularity as people rely on them as a way to get where they need to go. Whether it’s for a night out, to get to the airport, or simply because you have no other option, these apps provide a car and driver for your trip. Safety, however, is not guaranteed.

As you know, Florida roads are dangerous with well over the national average in car accident deaths per 100,000 residents. When you’re involved in a rideshare car accident, the circumstances are often different than a typical car accident case. This is why it’s imperative to work with a law firm that understands these cases and can handle them (not every Florida personal injury/car accident attorney can).

Health and Safety First

Before diving into how your claim will play out, we want to first express care for your personal health and safety. Money matters, but you need to make sure you take care of any injuries, short and long-term, suffered in your Florida rideshare accident.

Your health comes first. Your personal injury attorney should focus on your case so you can focus on healing.

Rideshare Accident Insurance

Rideshare insurance looks different from regular car insurance. It’s important to understand the circumstances of the accident before filing a claim – rideshare drivers need to have their own insurance but will also have insurance through Uber or Lyft that activates if they are working.

Generally, you will only file with the driver’s personal insurance company if the driver was not active on the app in any way. You will file with the rideshare company’s insurance if:

  • The driver is active on the app on the way to pick someone up
  • The driver is active on the app and already picked up a passenger or passengers (including you)
  • The driver is active on the app but waiting for a ride request

In the case of the first two bullets, Uber and Lyft both retain $1,000,000 in third-party auto liability as well as uninsured or underinsured bodily injury and first-party injury insurance. In the case of the last bullet, Uber and Lyft both offer $50,000 per person for bodily injury coverage (up to $100,000 total) and $25,000 for property damage coverage.

Because Florida requires a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Property (PIP) coverage then any drivers involved in the accident will first refer to this coverage. 

Get Help from an Experience Miami Rideshare Accident Lawyer

As we noted above, not every attorney handles these cases. There are additional complexities when it comes to getting the facts of the case, seeking out contact with the companies involved, filing claims, and disputing or litigating insurance decisions.At Alvarez Law Group, we understand rideshare accidents and know who to contact when the time comes. Contact our team if you are involved in a rideshare accident in Miami or the surrounding areas and need our expertise on your side.

The following two tabs change content below.

Alvarez Law Group

At Alvarez Law Group, we are proud of our reputation for being a trusted advocate during insurance claims litigation and real estate transactions.

Latest posts by Alvarez Law Group (see all)